The Lawrence Rural and River Museum is owned and operated by the Lawrence Historical Society and located in the former 2NR Broadcast Station in Merton Street Lawrence.
Visitors to the museum will be welcomed into the restored heritage broadcast station building.
Displays include early Lawrence settlement, the Clarence River Road to Settlement, music & textiles, church & state, a large communications collection with replica broadcast studio.
At the rear of this building is a 2 storey display shed. The ground floor features agricultural and industrial history, whilst the upstairs portrays the social and cultural life. It also includes four 1930’s themed rooms.
Outside, visitors can wander through the gardens to see the dairy & bails, blacksmiths shop, sulky shed, and early settler’s cottage, which was once home to Ram Chandra, the ‘Snake Man’.
The museum has wheelchair friendly toilets and a lift.